Another Successful Annual Meeting and Tourism Summit is in the Books | Black Hills & Badlands - South Dakota

Another Successful Annual Meeting and Tourism Summit is in the Books

  • Another Successful Annual Meeting and Tourism Summit is in the Books

BH&B held its 80th Annual Meeting in conjunction with its Seventh Annual Tourism Summit Wednesday, Oct. 30, at the Best Western Ramkota Hotel in Rapid City.

During the annual board of directors meeting, the tourism-marketing group reviewed their 2019 programs and presented their plan for 2020. Members elected the association’s board of directors, which welcomed new board members Cameron Fullerton, Carrie Gerlach, Wade Lampert, Jackie Kusser, Debbie Ketel Spies, Jennifer Womack, Mistie Caldwell, Veronica Grosek, Andrew McKay, Julie Jensen, Sierra Ward, Tammy Gilbertson Hunsaker, Jean Maher, and Lyndy Ireland.

Presston Gabel, The Mammoth Site, will serve as the 2019 Chair of the Board, Ed Miller, Rush No More RV Resort & Campground, will serve as Vice Chair, and Davis Dathe, Comfort Suites, will serve as the incoming Treasurer.

“BH&B’s initiatives in 2019 contributed to another successful tourism season for the region,” said Michelle Thomson, President and CEO of BH&B. “We’re proud to share these results with our members and attendees and look forward to building off that momentum as we move into 2020.”

The luncheon award ceremony allowed BH&B to recognize both an individual and an organization that have made significant contributions to the tourism industry. The 2019 Special Achievement Award was presented to Prairie Berry Winery for the tremendous economic impact their business has had on the local tourism industry, area businesses and residents alike for the past 20 years.

The 2019 Black Hills Tourism Pioneer Award was presented to Bill Fugate of Badlands Petrified Gardens for his years of dedication to the tourism industry, the Black Hills & Badlands region and the community of Kadoka.

The Tourism Summit was held in the afternoon. Attendees were invited to join an in-depth discussion and round table strategy session with fellow members, led by Kristi Wagner of Rushmore Center for Civic Leadership, by sharing best practices, looking to the future of tourism and encouraging connection throughout the year to strengthen the organization, themselves and the industry.

We’d like to thank our sponsors for their generous support of this year’s event: Crazy Horse Memorial®, Custer State Park, Xanterra Mt Rushmore, Mt. Rushmore KOA Resort & Lodge, Lawrence & Schiller, Hot Springs Chamber, Ketel Thorstenson, LLP. Rush No More Resort, Simpsons Printing and the Sturgis Buffalo Chip.